Cab culture seems to have (at least at one time) fascinated Americans. For instance, there was that one show that used to come on HBO late at night, the name of which escapes me. There is that show “Cash Cab,” a quaint twist on the quiz show which places unsuspecting New Yorkers in the hot seat, on Discovery Channel, too. However, my point is that the idea of a cab ride has a certain charm for us, if only for interacting with a (usually) interesting personality. Okay, I may be exaggerating when I say “Americans,” as many might never have ridden in a cab. In Louisville (my home town) I almost never take a cab . . . *thinking* . . . actually, I have never taken a cab in Louisville. But in Russia I do it all the time. The cab rides here are different in some ways and the same in others. For one, there are not many stereotypical American “cabs”: black or yellow sedans with a little bubble on top that reads “taxi.” No, taxis (такси) in Russia do not have a special car and the drivers (таксисти) are usually just people looking to make some extra cash. Hailing them is the same: you just walk down the road with your hand held out, someone stops, you agree on a price, and off you go on another adventure. Every taxi ride offers a unique experience, as the drivers are themselves always unique, and your experience could be anywhere from life-threatening to, how to put it, pleasant. I’ll (briefly) share a few of my trips to give you some idea of what I mean. Last weekend, coming from a salsa club, me and a friend of mine got a ride home with a Russian man driving a brand new Mercedes (much different than the typical Russian “cab”: a four-door sedan that looks like it is from the Soviet-era). We told him we were from America and he instantly began criticizing our “greedy” ways and “filthy, green money,” shortly before informing us that he was slightly drunk and a cop to boot. We were both scared for our lives, especially after he stopped in the middle of the road to show us pictures of the car he had totaled just a year ago. He warmed up to us, though, after we complimented his english (even focusing on the road some) and eventually got us home safe. Such insanity is far from the norm, however, and I guess this is why we were advised not to ride in such “gypsy cabs.” Many drivers in Petersburg are immigrants from Central Asian countries like Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, etc. (I guess this is an easy job for immigrants to get as no one can really discriminate against you if you are self-employed) One of my rides with such a foreigner was pleasant: we talked about his family back in Uzbekistan, his car, how he liked Petersburg, etc. Another was not, as the driver grew up near Afghanistan and hated Americans for their warmongering in that region and let us know about it (maybe I should just not mention that I am from America?). When he dropped us off, he tried to charge us two-hundred rubles more than we had agreed upon. Whether he thought we were stupid or just not paying attention I don’t know, but his efforts at deception failed without too much confrontation. Other drivers are just normal Russians looking for extra money. The crazy cop aside, these are usually the safest and most informative to talk with, as they have grown up in Petersburg (or at least Russia) and have a lot to teach those wishing to know about Russian culture. All in all, this transport strikes me as neither a good nor a bad thing. It does make for an interesting part of the culture, though. As different as the system seems, it is virtually the same as in the US. The only difference is that American cabs work for a cab company which somehow endows them with an aura of safeness, even though you are still at the disposal of a random person. When I am back in America, I think I will miss the excitement of hopping into a random car and riding off on another mini-adventure. Although it is less safe in some ways, it sure beats road rage and all the other negative appurtenances of driving your own car. Anyway, I am off to Finland and Estonia this weekend so I don’t know if I will post again until I am back in Petersburg. Hope you don’t miss me too much while I am gone. Until next time, adios.